The Western Development Commission (WDC) is a statutory government body with a specific remit under the terms of the Western Development Commission Act (1998) to promote the economic and social development of the Western Region of Ireland comprising the counties Clare, Donegal, Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo. Its core activities are centred around three thematic pillars of regional policy, regional development and enterprise support. It operates under the aegis of the Department of Environment. In recent years it has gained experience in the analysis and development of drivers for growth in the regional and transnational Bioenergy sector. Its networks of SME’s and stakeholders have led to the development of several products to support research and growth of the sector e.g. an innovative open access service product has been developed (“The bioenergy tool” –, and several associated recommendations have been incorporated at national policy level – e.g. Irelands NREAP